ID possible fifties Colonial/ Bg Str stores and others in NC

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.

Moderator: Groceteria

andysj500

ID possible fifties Colonial/ Bg Str stores and others in NC

Post by andysj500 »

In exploring the history of my community, I think that I have stumbled across a possible 50's era Colonial, two 70s-era Colonial/Big Stars, a 50s/60s era A&P and a 50s/60s era Winn-Dixie. Mind the fact that I am just a rising college freshman, so I do not know much about these stores that older people do. Is there any evidence - any similaries to other stores of those chains to support my theories? Thank you.

The pictures and my theories are on my website

http://www.geocities.com/ussenterprise1 ... rkets.html
Dave
Veteran

Re: ID possible fifties Colonial/ Bg Str stores and others i

Post by Dave »

andysj500 wrote:In exploring the history of my community, I think that I have stumbled across a possible 50's era Colonial, two 70s-era Colonial/Big Stars, a 50s/60s era A&P and a 50s/60s era Winn-Dixie. Mind the fact that I am just a rising college freshman, so I do not know much about these stores that older people do. Is there any evidence - any similaries to other stores of those chains to support my theories? Thank you.

The pictures and my theories are on my website

http://www.geocities.com/ussenterprise1 ... rkets.html
Nice job. Don't call me older (just kidding).

I think that you're spot on regarding the McMorrine Street store being a Colonial and I believe your Winn-Dixie is also a Colonial. I say that because of the corrugated metal facade.

Have you checked the Elizabeth City library to see if they have any old city directories? If they do, you can verify all of your locations.
Dave
Veteran

Post by Dave »